Friday, March 5, 2010

The National, High Violet / Black Sessions #230

Surfing on Steam and I were chatting yesterday about these High Violet teaser ads and wondering who they were for. The National was one of the bands mentioned as a guess. And now it has been revealed that High Violet is the name of their new album to be released by 4AD on May 11th.

Not that I care so much about album names but I particularly like the name of this one. Supposedly its going to be 'angry'. Maybe it's an album's worth of material written right after Matt Berninger gave up smoking. While I love all The National albums, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is my favorite. I feel like that had a bit of anger in parts. Since Matt sings in a low steady tone most of the time it's a nice contrast when the screaming starts. Hope the new album has bits of that here and there.

Here's this if you don't already have it. It's the Black Session they did sometime around the release of Alligator:

The National - Black Session #230, 04.29.05

1. All The Wine
2. Secret Meeting
3. Driver Surprise Me
4. Lit Up
5. Cherry Tree
6. Baby, We'll Be Fine
7. Geese
8. City Middle
9. Looking For Astronauts
10. Mr. November
11. Daughters of the Soho Riots
12. Abel
13. Wasp Nest


No comments:

Post a Comment