Saturday, June 12, 2010

Civil Civic, 'Less Unless'

Now that Ratatat has made it readily apparent that they are only going to rehash their debut album over and over, there seems to be a spot available for a dancey instrumental duo to step up and fill a void. Smart money should be on European two piece Civil Civic. Live guitar and bass with a layer of electronics and a love of distortion, that seems like a mighty safe bet.

Here they are claiming their legitness with a live version of their song 'Less Unless':

More over on their MySpace and Bandcamp pages.

Rene Hell, Porcelain Opera

Renee Hell is the latest name taken by American electronic musician Jeff Witscher, who has recently released Porcelain Opera. Equal parts light and dark, this album falls more on the repetitive drone side of things and is worth repeated listens. You can preview the entire album below.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Tycho, 'From Home (Mux Mool remix)'

Ghostly International has digitally re-released an expanded version of Tycho's 2006 work Past Is Prologue. Included is a remix by hanBrolo favorite Mux Mool, which you can hear below. Blissful electronic pop that helps cut through the June gloom here in Los Angeles. Or maybe helps one to embrace it.

More info here.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

BEAK>, Wulfstan 12"

BEAK> is a relatively new-ish project from Geoff Barrow (Portishead) that also features Matt Williams and Billy Fuller. They released a debut album last fall and now they give the world the four song Wulfstan 12".

You can preview the tracks over on their Bandcamp page. 'Wulfstan' is dark, repetitive, murky and pretty spooky. It's the kind of music that plays in your head when you are walking down a desolate country road and you keep turning around to see if you are being followed.

If Geoff is going to dabble in projects like this than there is no real rush on that next Portishead album as far as I see it.

The 12" is limited to 500 copies.

Reissued!: Spiritualized, Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space

There's a short list of things that could convince hanBrolo to emerge from the self-imposed blogger exile he lackadaisically entered over a month ago. News that one of the greatest albums of the 1990's is finally being re-released on vinyl is one of those things.

Those who care most likely know that the original pressing of Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space can be located on eBay from time to time, but you're not likely to snag it for less than 100 bones.

That's why the news that this Tuesday, June 15th, Plain Recordings will be releasing a new pressing on 180 gram vinyl should be met with cheers and tears of joy from any self respecting music fan.


To celebrate, I give you the 1998 Flux Festival performance, where J. Spaceman performed a handful of Ladies And Gentlemen tracks accompanied by a choir:

Spiritualized: Flux Festival / Edinburgh, Scotland / 08.14.98

1. Intro
2. Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space
3. No God Only Religion
4. Choir
5. Cool Waves
6. The Individual
7. Lord Can You Hear Me
8. Choir
9. Choir
10. Feel So Sad
11. Feel So Sad